The (Part-Time) Job Hunt

I’ve been putting in what feels like endless hours trying to find a part time job. I’m hoping to break into the restaurant/hospitality industry–I’d love to walk out every night with tips–and having done more than my fair share of time in retail, the change would be super refreshing. Plus, my real goal is to secure my financial future, and to do that, I need a temporary income boost. So, let’s bring it.

Right now though, I’m not getting any bites. It sucks. Let me write out some of the things I’ve heard from different restaurants so far:

Restaurant #1: “Oh, sorry. We’re taking applications, but our manager is unavailable at this time.”

Restaurant #2: “Well, right now I’m full, but I’ll stick your application in my inbox and will call when I’m ready to change up my team.”

Restaurant #3: “I am hiring, but I have some interviews scheduled already, so I will call you in 1-2 business days. Take a menu with you to look at on the way out.”

#3 by far is the most promising, but I am now on business day two, and no call.

I’m marching my butt up there this afternoon to follow up. Especially because #3 is only open for dinner and therefore meshes perfectly with my day job schedule. There are other perks too–the manager said that instead of a paltry $2.15/hr plus tips, they pay a whopping $3.45/hr plus tips (note my sarcasm–but I know the tip money will be *excellent* at this particular establishment!).

Time to cram those menu options into my brain, folks…maybe if I go in there prepared to rattle it off from memory, the manager will actually give me the time of day.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in I Need Money and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

