More Job Hunting

Friends, I have spent about 30 hours in the past two weeks researching and applying for part time jobs. I have also spent a lot of time and gas driving to different restaurants here in town to drop off applications and trying to get face time with managers. So far, I have had zero luck. Well, I lied. I’ve had luck with talking to managers–it’s just that I don’t have enough experience to be hired on the spot.

It’s really disheartening, and it makes me realize how frustrated people can be who are unemployed seeking full time jobs. If I can’t find anything part time, it has to be a rough market for full time, right?

I still haven’t applied everywhere that I possibly can, so with that in mind, I might have to “embellish” my experience a little bit. I worked as a banquet and catering server in college. So, I do have some limited experience. I might have to omit the banquet part from “banquet server” and instead of saying I worked for catering, maybe say I worked for a small sports bar near campus. Something…anything…to help me get my foot in the door. I mean, I know that waitressing is not going to be an easy cakewalk, but that said, I am a smart girl and I learn quickly. Plus I’ve already done a lot of internet reading on how to be successful and stay organized. I know I would be a great employee if someone would just give me a chance. The consensus amongst my waitressing and bartending friends seems to be that they all had to lie slightly to get their first jobs in the industry, too.

I’m not one for being dishonest, but yesterday my first choice sports bar rejected me because I didn’t have experience and they made it quite clear that if I’d had some, I would have been hired then and there.

I need more money and I am going to do what I have to do to find a job. I have people willing to say that they used to be my manager at my “old restaurant” so maybe I need to try a different strategy.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in I Need Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

