The Runaround

Today I called ChiliBee’s to get my training schedule, since I was supposed to start next week. In the phone conversation, the manager I spoke with said that the GM who hired me left so they were currently changing things up there. I asked if I still had a job, and she said that there’s definitely still a position for me. But, she refused to tell me when I would start and insisted that they’d give me a call.

Now, I’m not a kind of person who likes any kind of uncertainty. I have to have a plan. I mean, I broke up with my last ex because he refused to plan (after a two year relationship, I might add, where we dealt with a lot of stuff–it’s not like it was too soon!). So a job with uncertainty is even worse. The whole phone conversation just made me feel incredibly stressed out.

So, anyway, on Monday night–a couple days ago–I got a call from a different restaurant where I applied earlier this month. I had really, really wanted that restaurant to hire me because they are in walking distance from my apartment. Plus, they pay $3.46/hr plus tips instead of the going rate of $2.15/hr plus tips. I had followed up a whole bunch with them, but didn’t get a call until this week. I told him Monday that I was very sorry, but I had been hired by ChiliBee’s.

Knowing that restaurant #2 had called, I decided to swallow my pride and go back up there today to talk to them. The manager who had called me was there. I explained who I was, and how ChiliBee’s was giving me the runaround on a start date.

He hired me on the spot.

So, I haven’t told ChiliBee’s about this yet, but I will need to soon. I’m just waiting to find out my orientation date from this other place. And I really hope that this other place doesn’t give me the runaround because it’s so much better in so many ways! I mean, they are going to teach me bartending! Which is my overall goal!

Now, I just need a cute nickname for restaurant #2, since I don’t want to use ChiliBee’s for it. Any ideas?

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in ChiliBee's, I Need Money and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Runaround

  1. TGIHOP? That’s the best I could come up with.

Leave a Reply

