Orientation

I went to orientation today at the hotel where Coyote’s is located. Since orientation was on a date where I had major work meetings to worry about at my full time job, I had to make special arrangements. It was less than fun talking to my boss about it, but he relented and I was able to go.

Basically, the HR lady walked us through filling out and signing about 100 forms. There were the usual W-2, state tax, and I-9 forms, but there was also a huge pile of ones relating strictly to the hotel. One about the lost and found policy. One about tipped employees (that’s me!). One acknowledging that we received enrollment information for a very shitty health plan, which I don’t need; my full time job has major medical included, thankfully!

Then we talked about the policies and procedures in the employee handbook, and she took us on a tour of the whole facility. There are lots of small meeting and conference rooms, and then several large dining and banquet rooms. Three of the biggest can be combined to create a grand ballroom of sorts. Not much of that applied to me since I will be working in the restaurant, but I might bartend the occasional banquet.

Before I left we met with the food and beverage manager, who gave my schedule. My first shift is a week from today, and I’m on the schedule three days in a row. I’m going to have to shadow another server those first three days, but then I’ll be off to money making tip land the first week of September.

I got hired the first week of August, so it’s taken quite a bit of time, but I’m finally getting started. Hip hip hooray, or something like that.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in Coyote's, I Need Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

