Waiting and Dating Brain Dump

I am totally obsessed with waitressing now that I’m finished training. Saturday night was my first night “live” on the floor (and my only non-training shift, so far). I loved it. The shift went super quick, and I walked out with $43. Coyote’s has steady business, but it’s never overwhelmingly busy, which is good for someone with little experience like me. I actually should’ve made more, but I had a pair of idiots who had a $25 gift certificate and they tipped me off the final balance, not the original bill. Fuckers. Plus some other people who shortchanged me slightly. Overall though, it’s an easy place to work and I’m having fun there.

I’m already playing with numbers, and anticipating my next shift on Thursday, and then I get two more weekend shifts this week. By next week, I want to start making extra payments on some credit card debt with my earnings. Meanwhile, my primary job will take care of all my other expenses (rent, car insurance, cell phone bill, food, gas, utilities, etc). I got this job to get out of debt for once and for all, and it seems like it will do just that.

Switching gears completely, I just had kind of a hurtful run in with a guy I casually dated early in the summer. At the time, he blew me off to go to Maryland for a wedding function, when we’d had a date set up. Common sense points to the fact that if it was an out of state wedding, he would have known the date in advance, and he shouldn’t have double booked with me. I told him to please stop talking to me, because I can’t date flakey men.

Seriously–if this is how he acts when trying to impress me, then what would it be like later after the “honeymoon” phase? No thanks.

Anyway, he contacted me on Skype last week, said he hopes I’m doing well, etc. We got to talking and apologized to each other about the time he blew me off. Yesterday afternoon, some of my friends were out by the pool so I invited him over to join us. Today, he talked non-stop about how much he liked one of my single female friends.

I know him and I never *became* anything, but I just think it’s rude to mack on my friends since there was some kind of history there. It took balls for him to actually be honest and tell me, so I’ll give him that much, but it still hurt my ego a little bit. I don’t really plan on keeping him as a friend because I don’t want to deal with this shit on a regular basis. I also filled my friend in on the history of the situation, so that she’d have a heads up.

Dating sucks, man. I don’t think I want to do it anymore.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in Coyote's, I Need Money, Real Life Dating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waiting and Dating Brain Dump

  1. Laura says:

    Ouch… what a dog. Yeah, you didn’t have any sort of “official” relationship, but that’s pretty insensitive of him to tell you he wants your friend. Its almost as if he wanted you to get competitive over him!

Leave a Reply

