Labor Day Weekend

I hate this weekend at work. I have made absolutely no money. In fact, I walked out with $21 last night. That’s it. After 4 hours of being run to death, more fucking restaurant.com gift certificates, and people that ordered Goose and Patron off our bar, but who could only “afford” to leave me 8%. Just…don’t even get me started.

Let’s talk about restaurant.com for a minute. People can buy a gift certificate for Coyote’s for $10 for us, which gives them $25 off to use. They have to purchase $35 worth of food in order to redeem it. Every shift, I get at least 1 table who has one of these. Every shift, I get shortchanged on my tips. The people with these gift certificates always have at least a $50 tab by the end of the night, but they always tip me off the discounted amount. What’s worse is that on the printout of the gift certificate, it says in huge letters PLEASE TIP YOUR SERVER OFF THE ORIGINAL AMOUNT OF THE BILL.

Tonight I have one more shift at 4:30, and then tomorrow I’m off from both jobs with the rest of America for Labor Day. Next weekend I’m hoping we will be busier, because apparently Labor Day is a notoriously slow weekend.

In dating news: yesterday, Spongebob from Bob’s Barn came over to go swimming with me. On Friday night, I danced with him all night at Bob’s because he wanted to practice some spin techniques on the floor, so while we were in the pool yesterday, we were two stepping and spinning. He’s the one that started it, and it was adorable. It’s kind of hard to move how you’re supposed to in water, but it made me laugh and that was much needed.

He eventually went in for the kill of a kiss and then before I knew it we were making out in the water all afternoon. We had to stop when a mom came in with her small child, but a little while later we headed inside for some more fun. Now I reallllllyyyy find myself wanting to have sex with Spongebob. I gave him the nickname of Spongebob, because he has the same name as another character on the show. I’m sure you guys can figure out the name with some effort. πŸ™‚

Why do I want to have sex with him? Well, first of all, I’ve gotten into a bad habit of booty calling my ex. It’s just too easy and familiar to do that, so I haven’t really gone for much fresh meat since early spring. Without going into too much further detail, my ex is leaving with the Army again to go to Afghanistan for a year like THIS MONTH. No sex for a year is obviously no bueno so we need to fix that like right now. Second of all, I just think it would be a good thing to get comfortable having sex with new people, because eventually when I meet someone I really do like, I don’t want to have any hangups. I think a FWB type situation would be ideal for this stuff, so I’m going to make it happen.

I hope all my readers are doing well…if I even have any readers? I never get comments so I have no idea if anyone even reads this. If you do, show yourselves please. It would be much appreciated.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in Coyote's, Real Life Dating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Labor Day Weekend

  1. Historically Crazy says:

    I read your blog! I find the dating part most interesting. I’m quite young, I’m not 20 yet, but I just got out of a serious 2 year relationship, and it’s kind of fun to live through you in regards to dating (as I’m focussing on school for a while) Hope the waiting picks up soon!

  2. Captain Lulz says:

    Holy shit you’re a whore. Close your legs and get into a decent relationship before you end up 35+ with a pile of cats.

  3. I’m reading!! Keep writing! I love your honesty. Do you think having a pen name makes it easier? I’m also trying to get out of debt and have been considering adding a serving job to the mix. How has it been thus far combining both jobs?

    • Pepper Potts says:

      Thanks! Yes, having a pen name makes it a little bit easier, though I’ve linked it IRL to some (close) friends. πŸ™‚

      I’m really exhausted having two jobs, but the extra money is so. worth. it.

  4. roseyposie says:

    I love your blog! Seriously, there is something about server blogs that just get me, and yours has good non-server stories also. For real πŸ™‚
    Ah the booty call. I fully relate to your whole ‘need to be comfortable with the sex’ thing. I have no advice, but just wanted to say hello!

  5. Sassy Sam says:

    Pepper – perhaps you should look at the Restaurant.com gift certs. Last time I checked it says that you must have a minimum of $35 FOOD purchase (ie – alcohol doesn’t count) and there is a 20% gratuity INCLUDED. Maybe this would make you stop hating these gift certificates so much. If you are doing it correctly, YOU will be including the 20% tip into their bill and therefore they won’t technically have to leave any tip, as it’s already included.

  6. I found you through No More Harvard Debt. When I use Restaurant.com, an 18% gratuity on the pre-discounted amount is always added onto the bill automatically. I’m not sure if that’s a restaurant policy or Restaurant.com policy.

Leave a Reply

