Two Jobs Sucks

I apologize for my bad attitude in this post. I just need to get it all out before another shift.

I’m so tired. I hate working two jobs. It’s really physically exhausting. I don’t like having to rush from one to the other if I have a weeknight shift at Coyote’s. But, I’m determined to beat debt so I am just trying to grin and bear it for now.

The worst is closing on weeknights. I get up at 6 AM for my M-F full time job, and depending on how busy we are at Coyote’s, it’s possible to not get out til midnight or later. Now that the NFL season is underway, every time I work a Sunday (like today), if people come in to watch the game and the game isn’t over by 11 when the bar closes, we can’t kick them out and instead are all stuck until the game ends. I don’t do well on less than 8 hours of sleep, so this really sucks. Tonight is my first shift working with football, so if it winds up being a really late night because of the football crowd, I’m going to change my availability to “No Sundays.” They’ll just have to deal with it and find someone else who can work. But we’ll see.

Friday night, I got a table of two parents with 3 kids. They left me $13 on a $47 tab, which was an awesome tip, but when I left I saw why: the youngest child in the booster seat had left a huge mess on the floor. Huge. Fries, chips, and mac and cheese were everywhere. FML. We bus our own tables at my restaurant, so yours truly got to clean it all. FUCK.

Last night I went in at 4:45, then I got cut at 8:00. I made $13 and change the whole night, but it was all charge tips so I can’t pick up the money until Monday. The hours for picking up negative drops are 1-4 PM, and that’s when I’m at my regular job. I can’t do it. The food and beverage manager told me to go talk to the HR director and force her to work something out for me, because our paychecks every other Friday are the same policy–only available between 1-4 PM. It’s ridiculous. I’ve never heard of any business that’s so stringent about when employees can access their money. Thankfully my full time job pays the bills so all this is just gravy, and when I pick it up doesn’t matter, but I feel a whole lot of sorry for employees who pay rent and groceries with their paychecks from there and who need it the day they get paid but who can’t get there.

We have direct deposit offered but they have a whole slew of rules about keeping it so I’m not getting into that.

And, I think that’s enough from me today. I’m off to my third shift in a row, and then tomorrow I’ve got one more.

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in Coyote's, I Need Money and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

