Rough Night.

Last night was an awful one at Coyote’s.

It started off with me getting there at 4:30. That was all well and good, except I was on the schedule for 6:00. It didn’t matter because Kandi needed some extra time to get there, so she clocked in at 6:00 instead. They like to switch schedules at the last minute around there so I didn’t know, but meh.

So, when we opened at 5:00, I got two room service calls back to back. Remember–Coyote’s is inside a hotel. I delivered and closed the first without incident. The second one was full of problems. I brought it down to them and the lady bitched at me for there not being any sauce with her coconut shrimp–and in the kitchen, they told me no sauce came with it because I made sure before I left with my cart that I had everything I needed. Then I offered them a free dessert to fix it, which they were happy about. However, when I went to close their check, it came back as “no credit” for the room charge. I contacted them for a different form of payment but they gave me a big runaround about paying cash but needing to transfer funds and blah blah blah.

Right away, my bartender, Steam, was like, “they’re scamming you and that’s going to be paid out of your own pocket, just wait.”

So, I had the front desk call them, and they gave the front desk the same story.

Later I was informed I was getting cut at 8, so I had to make sure they paid up before I left. They took their phone off the hook in the room, and our GM was upstairs with Pompous Ass (the BIG boss of the whole hotel) supervising banquet food that was coming out of the banquet kitchen. I tried calling our GM’s cell to get him back downstairs but he didn’t pick up.

Finally, since I wanted to leave I paid the tab with my debit card–the one linked to all my tips at SECU–and clocked out. Steam was right, sadly. 😦

I went out to my car and discovered I locked my keys in it. I called AAA but had to wait another hour for them to come unlock it. So I went back inside. Steam told me that when our GM came back, her and Kandi told him that I had left and closed the ticket myself, but he went down to the room to knock the door and demand payment. They didn’t answer so he went to the front desk and had their keys deactivated so they would HAVE to go pay. Unfortunately, since he was with Pompous Ass, Ass told him to write me up for “not following hotel policy” and not checking before delivering the meal whether they had room service credit. Which, I didn’t know was something I had to do–I’ve only been there just shy of a month, remember? I’m not perfect yet!

The room services were my only “tables” all night so I made no money. I lost money.

So, I was bawling because I never worked with our GM before since he is new, this was my first night there with him, and this was the impression I made. I also felt like paying the tab was enough punishment. I’ve worked there just shy of a month so there is a LOT I still don’t know. Plus, we told Cherub (the food/bev manager) and even her first reaction wasn’t a write-up. Two out of three managers didn’t want to do the write up but because Pompous Ass said so their hands were tied. Such bullshit. I want to be on the bar eventually and if our GM thinks I’m incompetent just as a server, he will NEVER cross train me. 😦

Later on, Steam texted me and said that the guy from the room paid up, so they won’t be charging my debit card, but UGHHHHHH. I still have a fucking writeup over a bullshit thing–how is it MY fault that those people didn’t pay right away? Plus, it’s not like I clocked out without paying, the hotel still got their money either way.

Not pleased. I have another shift tonight, but now that football season is under way we can wear jerseys instead of our gay shirt/tie combination if it’s a game day. That’s a plus. Since I’m an opener, I hope we’re slammed so that I don’t get cut again and so that I can maybe show our GM that I actually am a hard worker and that I know what I’m doing (most of the time!).

Here’s to lots of cash tips tonight, I hope…

About Pepper Potts

I am a 20-something year old working professional. I'm keeping my day job to myself on here because this is a public blog. However, I moonlight waiting tables and dating men...hence, the Waiting and Dating title.
This entry was posted in Coyote's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rough Night.

  1. Nick says:

    That just stinks of poor management. Ultimately, it is the responsibility of the customer to ensure that they can pay for what they order. If there is a non-payment, then the problem should automatically be bumped to the management to deal with and not the server. And finally, the server should not have to pay for any customer that doesn’t pay. Again, it is the responsibility of the management to ensure that they resolve the situation, not the server. The buck *always* stops with the management. I hope your next day got better….

Leave a Reply

